population of all the provinces taken as a whole. The Act was amended accordingly in 1946 to provide a new rule to regulate representation in the House of Commons. Generally speaking, representation was fixed as follows:—

The membership assigned to each province shall be computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained.

This rule, employed in the redistribution of representation made in 1947, was effective in the General Election of 1949.

After the completion of the 1951 Census it was apparent that, as a result of a wartime shift of population, a substantial reduction in the representation of the Province of Saskatchewan would ensue under the rules then regulating representation. Accordingly, in an effort to eliminate sharp reductions in provincial representation from one census to another, the British North America Act was again amended (RSC 1952, c. 304, Sect. 51) (see Canada Year Book 1963-64, p. 75) to ensure that the representation of any province should not be reduced by more than 15 p.c. at any one readjustment, subject however to the qualification that the effect of the rule should not be to make the representation of a province with a smaller population greater than any province with a larger population.

Subsequently in 1952, Parliament enacted RSC 1952, c. 334, effective in the General Election of 1953 and in each successive General Election down to that of the Twenty-sixth Parliament (Apr. 8, 1963), which provided that representation in the House of Commons should be on the following basis:—

"Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members."

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 26 General Elections since Confederation is given in Table 9.

9.—Representation in the House of Commons, as at Federal General Elections 1867-1963

Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957 1958 1962 1963
Ontario. Quebec. Nova Scotia. New Brunswick. Manitoba. British Columbia. Prince Edward Island. Saskatchewan. Alberta. Yukon Territory. Mackenzie River, N.W.T. ¹ Newfoundland.	82 65 19 15 }	88 65 21 16 4 6 	88 65 21 16 4 6 6	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 4	92 65 20 14 7 6 5 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 1	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 7	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12 1	82 65 14 11 17 14 21 16 1	82 65 12 10 17 16 4 21 17	83 73 13 10 16 18 4 20 17 1 1	85 75 12 10 14 22 4 17 17 17
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

¹ Northwest Territories in 1963.

The Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act was passed by the House of Commons and given Royal Assent on Nov. 20, 1964. This Act is the result of Sect. 51 (1) of the British North America Act which requires a readjustment of the representation of the provinces on the completion of each decennial census. The Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act provides for the establishment of 10 Commissions, one for each province, to consider and report upon the readjustment of the representation of the provinces in the House of Commons.